CROSSOVER // Nathalie Harvey shows her work and herself

Last Thursday we were at the opening of the Obrose Gallery’s latest exhibition: Crossover. Nathalie Harvey not only exhibits her work but also the work of other artists she loves.

Under the name Crossover, we discover styles as varied as crossover, transition, permutation, re-interpretation or superimposition… So crossover includes a multitude of techniques that Nathalie Harvey wanted to highlight through the artistic encounter of several different personalities whose works present similar patterns or, on the contrary some completely opposite aspects.

As a starting point, Nathalie Harvey takes back crafts techniques, she then invites different artists to experiment on this theme but also to play with one another with movements of variations, quotations and returns.

How do you take back someone else’s style or subject? What constitute an artist’s point of view? And how do you move it to new horizons, for play purposes as well as curiosity?

Poline Harbali, Dune Varela, Cyril Le Van, Nadia Yosmayan, Julien Des Monstiers, Régis-Ret and Nathalie Harvey all tried it out. They came up with a path at the crossroad of their worlds by imagining all sorts of pure creations that the Obrose Gallery shows until June 20, 2015.

We’d like to show you a little sample of Nathalie Harvey’s work. She agreed to a very nice FOCUS:

Fucking Lovely ©Nathalie Harvey

Sticky OK Opt ©Nathalie Harvey

Sticky Fingers ©Nathalie Harvey

Less is more ©Nathalie Harvey

Practical info: OBROSE 11 rue Saint Bernard, 75011 Paris

On the web : http://obrose.fr/

T/O/S.

CROSSOVER // Nathalie Harvey s’expose & expose

Jeudi dernier nous étions au vernissage de la nouvelle exposition présentée à la galerie Obrose : Crossover. Nathalie Harvey non seulement s’expose mais expose des artistes qu’elle aime.

C’est sous l’appellation Crossover que l’on découvre des styles aussi variés que celui du croisement, de la transition, de la permutation,  de la réinterprétation ou encore de la surimpression…  Le crossover englobe donc une multitude de pratiques que Nathalie Harvey a voulu mettre en lumière à travers la rencontre artistique de différentes personnalités dont les travaux présentent des similitudes de motifs ou au contraire des aspects complètement opposées.

En prenant pour point de départ la réappropriation de techniques artisanales, Nathalie Harvey invite différents artistes à expérimenter ce dialogue  mais aussi à jouer les uns avec les autres dans des mouvements de reprises, de citations et de variations.

Comment se réapproprie-t-on la manière ou le sujet d’un autre ? Qu’est-ce qui constitue la « façon » de voir d’un artiste ? Et comment déplacer celle-ci vers d’autres horizons, aussi bien par jeu que par curiosité ?

Poline Harbali, Dune Varela, Cyril Le Van, Nadia Yosmayan, Julien Des Monstiers, Régis-R et Nathalie Harvey se sont prêtés à l’exercice. Ils ont ainsi élaboré chacun une piste au carrefour de leurs univers en imaginant toutes sortes de pures créations que la galerie Obrose accueille jusqu’au 20 juin prochain 2015.

Nous vous présentons déjà un aperçu du travail de Nathalie Harvey qui nous a dit oui pour un très beau FOCUS :

Fucking Lovely ©Nathalie Harvey

Sticky OK Opt ©Nathalie Harvey

Sticky Fingers ©Nathalie Harvey

Less is more ©Nathalie Harvey

Infos pratiques : OBROSE, 11 rue Saint Bernard, 75011 PARIS.

On the web : http://obrose.fr/

T/O/S.