THE BERARDO COLLECTION // 1900-1960

The crush during our last escapade in one of the most dynamic European cities of the moment was our visit to the Berardo Museum, museum of modern and contemporary art located a few kilometers from Lisbon, in Belém. This is an unavoidable stop since more than 800 works from the Berardo collection are permanently exhibited and retraces a complete itinerary in what constitutes the art of the twentieth century.

Presented chronologically and recalling all artistic movements, we first chose to present a trip through modern art between 1900 and 1960.

From the invention of cubism, with Pablo Picasso and Marcel Duchamp, to different movements devoted to the approach of space and its understanding such as dadaism, constructivism or surrealism. All this bursting of points of view and creations allowed him alone to change the nature and the function of the work of art in itself.

Florence Henri, Sans titre, 1926-1929 Victor Servranckx, Composition, 1923

Not taking part in the First World War, the Netherlands became the perfect ground for artistic development during this period. A new aesthetic expression emerges, it is known as neoplasticism or De Stijl, the name of the magazine edited by Piet Mondrian in October 1917. The geometric shapes are flat, lines are structured and complemented by the primary colors. The lines represent nature, namely landscapes and man. The purification is maximum and the balance is perfect.

Lajos Kassak, Sans titre, 1922

The period between the two World Wars followed, a period of great upheaval and major political constraints that would bring about abstractionism. Thanks to the contribution of Auguste Herbin and Georges Vantongerloo through exhibitions and an annual magazine, Abstraction-Creation: Non-Figurative Art, this movement has become known worldwide, especially in London or New York. Shortly after, in 1925, surrealism will leave a place for dreams, the study of the unconscious in art and absolute freedom of mind. Salvado Dali and Yves Tanguy will become the two greatest precursors surrounded by André Bertin, Man Ray or Pablo Picasso who will eventually join this movement. A poetic world completes this reflection. The informalism with Dubuffet then the movement CoBrA (Copenhagen, Brussels, Amsterdam) will come to decimate Paris like unique neuralgic point imposing, between 1948 and 1951, these three new European capitals. Towards the end of the war, New York became one of the world’s leading artistic centers, which saw the emergence of abstract expressionism with artists such as Willem de Kooning and Lee Krasner. Once the Second World War is over, the figuration finally arrives to prevail and is reflected in a variety of stylistic categories that ultimately will be transformed into new figuration.

Lee Krasner, Visitation, 1957

From 1956, the New School of Paris is formed. The aesthetic bases mutate, inspired by cubism, surrealism but also by german expressionism, they will give rise to tachism, where stain and instinctive brushstrokes took precedence. This time has also revealed the work of Richard Mortensen and his geometric abstractionism. Art demonstrated, at this time, strongly, that it was able to evolve in the face of ideological changes.

In parallel, the Kinetic Art and Op Art with their heads artists such as Vasarely or Pol Bury. The movement is virtual through optical illusions.allèle,  l’Art Cinétique et Op Art avec leurs têtes des artistes tels que Vasarely ou encore Pol Bury. Le mouvement est virtuel à travers les illusions d’optique.

Victor Vasarely, Bellatrix II, 1957 Pol Bury, Mélangeur, 1961

Many artistic movements will emerge in the 1960s, including the Zero Group in Germany, the existentialist figuration that recalls the Holocaust and the cruelty of human nature driven by individualism and leading to loneliness, helplessness and abandonment. Francis Bacon, through his portraits, highlighted the violence of the Second World War.

Lourdes Castro or René Bertholo are artists who were inspired by the New Realism that was born in the early 70s. The consumer society is denounced.

Lourdes Castro, Sombra projectada de Claudine Bury, 1964

This first part of the exhibition ends with the emergence of American Pop Art in the 60s and 70s and the insolence of Andy Warhol‘s denunciatory works on capitalism and bidding over the process of consumption. His portraits of media personalities are also part of this process.

Andy Warhol, Judy Garland, 1979

Useful information :
Musée Berardo
Praça do Império, 1449-003 Lisbon, Portugal
Everyday from 10am à 19pm

La collection Berardo // 1900-1960

Coup de coeur de notre dernière escapade dans l’une des villes européennes la plus dynamique du moment, notre visite au Musée Berardo, musée d’art moderne et contemporain situé à quelques kilomètres de Lisbonne, à Bélém. Il s’agit ici d’un stop incontournable puisque plus de 800 oeuvres issues de la collection Berardo y sont exposées de façon permanente et retrace un parcours complet dans ce qui constitue l’art du XXème siècle.

Présentée de manière chronologique et évoquant tous les mouvements artistiques, nous avons choisi dans un premier temps de vous présenter un voyage à travers l’art moderne entre 1900 et 1960.

De l’invention du cubisme, avec Pablo Picasso et Marcel Duchamp, aux différents mouvements consacrés à l’appréhension de l’espace et à sa compréhension tels que le dadaisme, le constructivisme ou encore le surréalisme. Tout cet éclatement de points de vue et de créations a permis à lui seul de changer la nature, et la fonction de l’oeuvre d’art en elle-même.

Florence Henri, Sans titre, 1926-1929

Victor Servranckx, Composition, 1923

Ne prenant pas part à la Première Guerre mondiale, les Pays-Bas sont devenus le terrain parfait pour le développement artistique durant cette période. Une nouvelle expression esthétique émerge, elle est connue comme le néoplasticisme ou De Stijl, le nom de la revue éditée par Piet Mondrian en octobre 1917. Les formes géométriques sont planes, les lignes sont structurées et complétées par les couleurs primaires. Les lignes représentent la nature,  à savoir les paysages et l’homme. L’épuration est maximale et l’équilibre se veut parfait.

Lajos Kassak, Sans titre, 1922

Suivra la période de l’entre-deux-guerres, période de grands bouleversements et de contraintes politiques importantes qui feront apparaître l’Abstractionnisme. Grâce à la contribution d’Auguste Herbin et de Georges Vantongerloo à travers des expositions et un magazine annuel, Abstraction-Création: Art Non-Figuratif, ce mouvement s’est fait connaître à l’échelle mondiale notamment à Londres ou à New-York. Peu de temps après, en 1925, le surréalisme laissera une belle place aux rêves, à l’étude l’inconscient dans l’art et de la liberté absolue de l’esprit. Salvado Dali et Yves Tanguy en deviendront les deux plus grands précurseurs entourés d’André Bertin, Man Ray ou encore Pablo Picasso qui finira par rejoindre ce mouvement. Un monde poétique vient compléter cette réflexion. L’Informalisme avec Dubuffet puis le mouvement CoBrA (Copenhague, Bruxelles, Amsterdam) viendront décimer Paris comme unique point  névralgique en imposant, entre 1948 et 1951, ces trois nouvelles capitales européennes. Vers la fin de la guerre, New-York devient l’un des plus importants centres artistiques mondial qui voit naître l’Expressionisme Abstrait avec des artistes tels que Willem de Kooning et Lee Krasner. Une fois la Seconde Guerre mondiale terminée, la Figuration arrive enfin à s’imposer et se traduit par une variété de catégories stylistiques qui au final se transformera en Nouvelle Figuration.

Lee Krasner, Visitation, 1957

Dès 1956, la Nouvelle École de Paris se forme.  Les bases esthétiques mutent, inspirées du cubisme, du surréalisme mais aussi de l’expressionnisme allemand, elles donneront naissance notamment au tachisme où la tache et les coups de pinceau instinctifs primaient.  Cette époque révèlera également le travail de Richard Mortensen et de son abstractionnisme géométrique. L’art démontre, à ce moment, fortement, qu’il est capable d’évoluer face aux changements idéologiques.

En parallèle,  l’Art Cinétique et Op Art avec leurs têtes des artistes tels que Vasarely ou encore Pol Bury. Le mouvement est virtuel à travers les illusions d’optique.

Victor Vasarely, Bellatrix II, 1957

Pol Bury, Mélangeur, 1961

De nombreux mouvements artistiques émergeront dans les années 60 dont le Groupe Zéro en Allemagne, la Figuration Existentialiste qui revient sur l’Holocauste et sur la cruauté de la nature humaine portée par l’individualisme et menant à la solitude, l’impuissance et l’abandon. Francis Bacon, à travers ses portraits, mettra en avant la violence de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Lourdes Castro ou encore René Bertholo sont des artistes qui ont été inspirés par le Nouveau Réalisme qui a vu le jour au début des années 70. La société de consommation y est dénoncée.

Lourdes Castro, Sombra projectada de Claudine Bury, 1964

Cette première partie d’exposition se clôt par l’émergence du Pop Art Américain dans les années 60 et 70 et l’insolence des oeuvres dénonciatrices d’Andy Warhol sur le capitalisme et la surenchère dans le processus de consommation. Ses portraits d’ personnalités médiatiques s’inscrivent également dans cette démarche.

Andy Warhol, Judy Garland, 1979

Bientôt la suite sur notre webzine…

Informations pratiques :
Musée Berardo
Praça do Império, 1449-003 Lisboa, Portugal
Ouvert tous les jours de 10h à 19h.