MAURIZIO CATTELAN // Not afraid of love

It’s in the 18th century salons of the MONNAIE DE PARIS that the exhibition Not afraid of love by Maurizio Cattelan is presented. The Italian contemporary artist returns after five years of absence for an exhibition entirely devoted to him: the biggest ever in Europe. This is the opportunity to discover the main works of Cattelan in the heart of a historic site in Paris.

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan - Le Monde ©

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan – Le Monde ©

Death, duality, void, memory: as many subjects represented throughout this exhibition by the emblematic works of the artist. Impossible to feel nothing about the realism of the sculptures, each more symbolic than the last. Strange and unexpected, the artworks sometimes go against the conventions of representation and decency.

« I don’t want to lead the audience in a specific direction, I want to provoke a spontaneous reaction. » Maurizio Cattelan

Scenography is described as minimal. A piece, a work: this is more or less the rule respected throughout the exhibition, it allows to the visitor to gravitate around the work and therefore to penetrate the universe of Cattelan. This is a totally original scenography, hanging from the floor to the ceiling and it’s sometimes necessary to be guided by your own curiosity to discover some sculptures in the room.

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan - Le Monde ©

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan – Le Monde ©

Many pieces refer to History, Cinema, Religion. It is through these themes that the artworks attract the eye and make you want to dwell on each of them. Maurizio Cattelan reveals once again his talent in an exhibition that you can discover with some friends or your family until January 2017.

Useful information : Not afraid of love, until January 8th 2017, Monnaie de Paris, 11 quai de Conti, 75006 Paris.

T/O/S.

MAURIZIO CATTELAN // Not afraid of love

C’est dans les salons XVIIIème siècle de la MONNAIE DE PARIS qu’est actuellement présentée l’exposition Not afraid of love de Maurizio Cattelan. L’artiste contemporain italien revient après cinq longues années d’absence pour une exposition qui lui est totalement consacrée : la plus grande jamais proposée en Europe. L’occasion de retrouver les œuvres phares de Cattelan au cœur d’un lieu historique de la ville de Paris.

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan - Le Monde ©

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan – Le Monde ©

La mort, le double, le vide, la mémoire autant de sujets représentés tout au long de cette exposition à travers les œuvres emblématiques de l’artiste. Impossible de rester de marbre face au réalisme des sculptures choc toutes plus symboliques les unes que les autres.
Étranges et inattendues, les pièces mises en scène vont parfois à l’encontre des conventions de représentation et de bienséance.

« Je ne veux pas guider le public vers une direction déterminée, je veux provoquer une réaction spontanée. » Maurizio Cattelan

L’accrochage est qualifié de minimal. Une pièce, une œuvre : c’est plus ou moins la règle respectée tout au long de l’exposition, cela permet de graviter autour des œuvres et donc de pénétrer l’univers de Cattelan. C’est ici une scénographie tout à fait inédite, l’accrochage se fait du sol au plafond et il faut parfois se laisser guider par sa curiosité pour découvrir certaines sculptures.

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan - Le Monde ©

Not afraid of love, Maurizio Cattelan – Le Monde ©

Nombreuses sont les pièces se réfèrent à l’Histoire, au cinéma, à la Religion. C’est grâce à ces thèmes que les œuvres attirent le regard et donnent envie de s’attarder un long moment sur chacune d’elles. Maurizio Cattelan révèle une nouvelle fois son talent dans une exposition à découvrir entre amis ou en famille jusqu’en janvier 2017.

Informations pratiques : Not afraid of love, jusqu’au 8 janvier 2017, Monnaie de Paris, 11 quai de Conti, 75006 Paris.

T/O/S.