CONGO BEAUTY // Congolese Art at the Cartier Foundation

We visited a superb exhibition last Sunday, one that puts the Congo and its most talented artists in the spotlight: Congo Beauty. Open until November 15.

A mixture of music, photographs, frescoes, paintings and sculptures, Congo Beauty reveals what is most magical in Congolese culture: its interpretation of political events, its offbeat but exact humor, its reveries, its warmth, its colors, its animals and its joy.

Everything is reflected in the works exhibited, which deal with sensitive topics like corruption or a geopolitical vision of the interior, but also topics like malaria. Please note this show is not a hymn to a DRC now overtaken by events but a real turning back to look at almost a century of the artistic history of a Congo that was still Belgian until the 60s, and at its evolution up to the present day.

During your visit, it is possible that the first part of the Congo Beauty exhibition on the ground floor might seem slightly heavier than the second part, located in the basement. The first part is indeed dedicated to economic, political and social issues, present or past. The artists show some humor and approach these topics with freedom and without taboo. The paintings here are figurative and brilliant.

Chéri Samba // Oui, il faut réfléchir, 2014 // © André Morin

Chéri Samba // Amour & Pastèque, 1984 // © Florian Kleinefenn

In the basement, the second part addresses the lifestyle of Congolese people, photographed notably by Jean Depara and Ambroise Ngaimoko, where music, dance and singing take center stage. Here you can also rediscover the world of SAPE (the Society of Poseurs and Elegant People).

Kiripi Katembo // Tenir // Série Un regard, 2011

Jean Depara, Sans titre, c.1955-1965

Studio 3Z

The installations conceived by the visual artists Body Isek Kingelez and Rigobert Nimi take you to futuristic cities in the style of Las Vegas that almost make you want to dive in to them.

©the_other_sight_webzine

You will also discover the poetic works of contemporary young Congolese talent from the Elizabethville School and the first recognized works of Albert Lubaki, Djilatendo, and Antoinette.

Sylvestre Kaballa // Sans titre // c. 1950

Djilatendo // Sans titre // c. 1930

We recommend Congo Beauty to young and old. The more so because, if the weather is good, a walk or a picnic in the garden of the Cartier Foundation for Contemporary Art is always a pleasure.

Information: 261 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris. Hours: Monday to Sunday from 11h to 20h.

On the web : http://fondation.cartier.com/#/fr/art-contemporain/26/expositions/2408/en-ce-moment/1789/beaute-congo/ 

T/O/S.

BEAUTÉ CONGO // Art congolais à la Fondation Cartier

C’est une superbe exposition que nous sommes allés voir dimanche dernier, celle qui met le Congo et ses artistes les plus talentueux à l’honneur : Beauté Congo. À voir jusqu’au 15 novembre prochain.

Mélange de musique, de photographies, de fresques, de peintures et de sculptures Beauté Congo révèle ce qu’il y a de plus magique dans la culture congolaise : sa manière d’interpréter les évènements politiques, son humour décalé mais juste, ses rêveries, sa chaleur, ses couleurs, ses animaux et sa joie.

Tout se reflète à travers les oeuvres exposées, on y traite de sujets délicats comme la corruption, la vision géopolitique de l’intérieur mais également de la malaria. Attention cette exposition n’est pas une hymne à une République Démocratique du Congo dépassée par les évènements mais un véritable retour en arrière sur un presqu’un siècle d’histoire artistique d’un Congo qui était encore belge jusqu’aux années 60 et sur son évolution jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Au cours de votre visite, il est possible que la première partie de l’exposition Beauté Congo au rez-de-chaussée vous semble moins légère que la seconde, située au sous sol. La première partie est en effet consacrée aux enjeux économiques, politiques et sociales tant actuels que passés.  Les artistes ont de l’humour et abordent ces sujets avec liberté et sans tabou. La peinture y est figurative et brillante.

Chéri Samba // Oui, il faut réfléchir, 2014 // © André Morin

Chéri Samba // Amour & Pastèque, 1984 // © Florian Kleinefenn

Au sous-sol, la seconde partie aborde le mode de vie des congolais photographié notamment par Jean Depara et Ambroise Ngaimoko  où musique, danse et chants occupent le devant de la scène. On y redécouvre également le monde de la SAPE (Société des Ambianceurs et des Personnes Élégantes).

Kiripi Katembo // Tenir // Série Un regard, 2011

Jean Depara, Sans titre, c.1955-1965

Studio 3Z

Les installations imaginées par les plasticiens Body Isek Kingelez et Rigobert Nimi vous emmènent dans villes futuristes aux airs de Las Vegas qui vous donneraient presque envie de vous plonger dedans.

©the_other_sight_webzine

Vous découvrirez également les oeuvres poétiques de jeunes talents congolais contemporains issues de l’École d’Élisabethville et les premières oeuvres reconnues d’Albert Lubaki, de Djilatendo et d’Antoinette.

Sylvestre Kaballa // Sans titre // c. 1950

Djilatendo // Sans titre // c. 1930

Nous conseillons Beauté Congo aux petits comme aux grands. D’autant plus que si le temps est clément une balade ou un pic-nic dans le jardin de la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain est toujours un plaisir.

Infos pratiques : 261 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris. Horaires : du lundi au dimanche de 11h à 20h.

On the web : http://fondation.cartier.com/#/fr/art-contemporain/26/expositions/2408/en-ce-moment/1789/beaute-congo/ 

T/O/S.