Marcio Vilela // Satellites

Today we have chosen to present the work of an artist who extends beyond our planet. Marcio Vilela has decided to lean over with a child’s wonder and a limitless curiosity about the phenomenon of satellites.

Portrait with antenna FHC
Crossing Orion

It started seven years ago when he stared at the sky one night and realized that the star he was staring at was not one but a satellite that could appear as fast as it appeared. Science and astronomy have always been part of Marcio Vilela‘s childhood.

From the first launch of a space satellite, Sputnik, by the Soviet Union in 1957 to the world phenomenon and the expansion of thousands of satellites in the sky, the artist wanted to explore all the mechanisms and play with them. It’s in an artistic residence in the Azores that things became serious, through photography.

Cosmos 1975

Difficult to distinguish a plane from a star or from a satellite to the naked eye sometimes. The satellite has a medium speed between the plane and the shooting star. Marcio Vilela has chosen to make this complex world more accessible through drawing, photography or video. Tracing the course of some satellites. Captivating also their cosmic language filled with codings. To achieve this result Marcio Vilela has been immersed for months, nights in the mountains of the Pyrenees, in Spain but also in Portugal. Everything had to be perfectly calculated to know the time of passage of a satellite and also to be able to identify it, while trying to understand its message and its mission.

Photogram 104
Forecasts for Argos
Argos satellite

The dimension becomes poetic, the lasers drawn by Marcio Vilela on the paths become moving drawings. These installations that plunge you into a deep darkness should go around Europe in the years to come. If satellites were created to allow communication, they should, for Marcio Vilela, also be able to bring people together on Earth, making them share an unforgettable moment in the midst of an universe of infinite possibilities. Always surrounded by scientists, Marcio Vilela should launch his own satellite, once all licenses have been validated. A satellite whose message will be in Morse. The artist has tatooed this message on his body. He is for the moment the only one to know the meaning.

The cone of possibilities
Making of Haruka satellite

From today until the September 15th you can discover Marcio Vilela‘s artworks at the Istanbul Contemporary Art Fair. The artist is represented at the booth 206 by the FOCO Gallery from Lisbon alongside other artists like Hugo Cantegrel, Mia Dudek and Pauline Guerrier.

T/O/S.

Marcio Vilela // Satellites

Aujourd’hui, nous avons choisi de vous présenter le travail d’un artiste qui s’étend au-delà de notre planète. Marcio Vilela a decidé de se pencher avec un regard d’enfant émerveillé et une curiosité sans limite sur le phénomène des satellites.

Portrait de Marcio Vilela avec une antenne FHC
Crossing Orion

Cela a commencé il y a sept ans quand en fixant une nuit le ciel, il a réalisé que l’étoile qu’il fixait n’en était pas une. Il s’agissait en fait d’un satellite capable d’apparaître aussi vite qu’il était apparu. La science et l’astronomie ont toujours fait partie de l’histoire de Marcio Vilela.

Du premier lancement d’un satellite spatial, Spoutnik, par l’Union soviétique en 1957 au phénomène mondiale et à l’expansion de milliers de satellites dans le ciel, l’artiste a voulu explorer l’ensemble des mécanismes et jouer avec eux. C’est en résidence artistique dans Les Açores que les choses sérieuses ont commencé, et par le biais de la photographie.

Cosmos 1975

Difficile, parfois, de distinguer un avion d’une étoile ou d’un satellite à l’oeil nu . Le satellite a une vitesse moyenne entre l’avion et l’étoile filante. Marcio Vilela a lui choisi de rendre ce monde complexe plus accessible à travers le dessin, la photographie ou encore la vidéo. Retraçant le parcours de certains satellites. Captivant aussi passage leur langage cosmique rempli de codages. Pour arriver à ce résultat Marcio Vilela s’est plongé pendant des mois, des nuits dans les montagnes des Pyrénées, en Espagne mais aussi au Portugal. Tout devait être parfaitement calculé pour connaître l’heure de passage d’un satellite et pouvoir aussi l’identifier, en essayant de comprendre son message et sa mission.

Photogram 104
Prévisions du passage du satellite Argos
Satellite Argos

La dimension devient poétique, les lasers tracés par Marcio Vilela sur les trajets deviennent des dessins mouvants. Ces installations qui vous plongent dans une obscurité profonde et dans une bulle devrait faire le tour de l’Europe dans les années à venir. Si les satellites ont été crées pour permettre la communication, ils devraient, pour Marcio Vilela, être aussi capables de réunir des personnes sur Terre, leur faisant partager un moment inoubliable au milieu d’un univers rempli d’un nombre infini de possibilités. Toujours entouré de scientifiques, Marcio Vilela devrait lancer son propre satellite, une fois toutes les licences validées. Un satellite dont le message sera en morse et qu’il porte déjà sur lui depuis des années sous forme de tatouage et dont lui seul, pour le moment, connaît la signification.

Le cône des possibilités
Making of satellite Haruka

Retrouvez dès aujourd’hui et jusqu’au 15 septembre le travail de Marcio Vilela la Foire d’art contemporain d’Istanbul : la Contemporary Istanbul. L’artiste y est representé au au stand 206 par la Galerie FOCO de Lisbonne aux côtés d’Hugo Cantegrel, Mia Dudek ou encore Pauline Guerrier.

T/O/S.