SAMUEL FOSSO // MAISON EUROPÉENNE DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE

We could easily qualify Samuel Fosso as a chameleon of photography. Both comfortable in front as behind the lens, the Cameroonian artist stages himself and places the self-portrait at the center of his work.

With a career that started early at the age of thirteen in Bengui, Central Africa, with the opening of a first studio called the National Photo Studio, Samuel Fosso is already showing a certain confidence. And what a better way to get noticed and show off your talent to passers-by than to present yourself in front of the camera ? The photographer feeds a particular taste for fashion and keeping a real sense of self-deprecation and humor. Each shot is the result of a real research : he designs his costumes himself and ask a local workshop to make them. The artistic direction is masterfully led and backgrounds allow the artist to set the scene for his stories. His studio will successively become the Gentil studio, the Hobereau studio and then the Convenance studio. Names chosen according to his creative periods.

Self-portrait, Samuel Fosso, from the 70’s Lifestyle series, 1975-78

What may seem, at first sight, like a young adolescent’s innocent fascination with the world around him will become a form of claimed contestation. The young man dares to disguise himself, playing with social codes, Samuel Fosso will quickly position himself in the political field, fighting in his own way for freedom of expression and Human rights.

Self-portrait, Samuel Fosso, from the 70’s Lifestyle series, 1975-78

From his first steps as a judoka, as a young sailor or even as a disco dancer in the 70s and his first pictures surrounded by members of his family, Samuel Fosso‘s work evolves. He abandons black and white shots for a while, to assert himself in the midst of bright colors, so specific to the African culture in which he grew up. The world of sappers inspires him and the photographer asserts himself more and more, openly denouncing African leaders and clichés of society through the titles of his works.

The Golfer, Samuel Fosso, 1997, from the Tati series
The Chief ( who sold Africa to the Colonists), Samuel Fosso, 2007
The Good lady, Samuel Fosso, 1997
The Rocker, Samuel Fosso, 1997, from the Tati series

Returning to a certain form of sobriety, the artist offers in 2008 a series of photographs paying tribute to committed personalities whose talent and combat he admires. He will play, with stunning realism, a Martin Luther King proclaiming his I have a dream speech, a Mohammed Ali thirsty for victory in the ring or even an Angela Davis with a determined look. Twenty years later, the photographer will resume this work, in color this time and in a more international way, by incarnating great figures of History, starting with the presentation of a black Pope at the 11th African Biennial of Photography. Or a controversial Mao Zedong.

Martin Luther King’s speech, Samuel Fosso, 2008
Angela Davis, Samuel Fosso, 2008
The Black pope, Samuel Fosso, 2017
Emperor of Africa, Samuel Fosso, 2013

Throughout his career Samuel Fosso strives to defend causes that seem right to him without ever forgetting to pay tribute to African culture, to his ancestors or to the patriots engaged in armed combats.

The Dream of my grandfather, Samuel Fosso, 2003

Samuel Fosso, 59 years old, lives now between Paris and Bengui. The MEP has chosen to present a retrospective of its work until March 13, 2022.

Useful info :

Samuel Fosso at the Maison Européenne de la photographie from the November 10th 2021 to the March 12th 2022 in Paris.

Book my ticket

T/O/S.

Tags

#473 #649 #698

SAMUEL FOSSO // MAISON EUROPÉENNE DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE

On pourrait aisément qualifier Samuel Fosso de caméléon de la photographie. Aussi bien à l’aise devant, que derrière l’objectif, l’artiste d’origine camerounaise, se met en scène et place l’autoportrait au coeur de son travail.

Avec une carrière démarrée précocement à l’âge de treize ans à Bengui, en Centre-Afrique, avec l’ouverture d’un premier studio baptisé le Studio Photo National, Samuel Fosso fait déjà preuve d’une certain assurance. Et quelle meilleure manière de se faire remarquer et d’exposer son talent aux passants que de se présenter soi-même devant l’objectif ? Le photographe aime affectionne un goût particulier pour la mode et possède un véritable sens de l’autodérision. Chaque cliché est le résultat d’une véritable recherche : il dessine lui-même ses costumes et les fait confectionner dans un atelier local. La direction artistique est menée de main de maître et les fonds permettent à l’artiste de poser le décor de ses histoires. Son studio deviendra par la suite le studio Gentil, le studio Hobereau puis le studio Convenance. Des noms choisis au gré de ses périodes créatives.

Autoportrait, Samuel Fosso, issu de la série 70’s Lifestyle, 1975-78

Ce qui peut sembler, à première vue, comme une fascination innocente d’un jeune adolescent pour le monde qui l’entoure deviendra une forme de contestation revendiquée. Le jeune homme aux traits androgynes ose se travestir, joue avec les codes sociaux et se positionnera très vite sur le terrain politique, combattant à sa manière pour la liberté d’expression et l’homme libre.

Autoportrait, Samuel Fosso, issu de la série 70’s Lifestyle, 1975-78

De ses premiers pas en judoka, en jeune marin ou encore en danseur de disco dans les années 70 et de ses premiers clichés entourés des membres de sa famille, le travail de Samuel Fosso évolue. Il délaisse un moment le noir et blanc pour s’affirmer au milieu de couleurs vives, si propres à la culture africaine dans laquelle il grandit. Le monde des sappeurs l’inspire et le photographe s’affirme de plus en plus, se moquant ouvertement des dirigeants africains et des clichés de la société à travers les titre de ses oeuvres.

Le Golfeur, Samuel Fosso, 1997, tiré de la série Tati
Le Chef (qui a vendu l’Afrique aux colons), 2007
La Bourgeoise, Samuel Fosso, 1997
Le Rocker, Samuel Fosso, 1997, tiré de la série Tati

Revenant à une certaine forme de sobriété, l’artiste propose en 2008 une série de clichés rendant hommage à des personnalités engagées dont il admire le talent et le combat. Il incarnera, avec un réalisme bluffant, un Martin Luther King clamant son discours I have a dream, un Mohammed Ali assoiffé de victoire sur le ring ou encore une Angela Davis au regard déterminé. Vingt ans plus tard, le photographe reprendra ce travail, en couleurs cette fois et de manière plus internationale en incarnant de grandes figures de l’Histoire à commencer par la présentation d’un Pape noir à la 11ème Biennale africaine de la photographie. Ou encore un Mao Zedong controversé.

Discours de Martin Luther King, Samuel Fosso, 2008
Angela Davis, Samuel Fosso, 2008
Le Pape noir, Samuel Fosso, 2017
Emperor of Africa, Samuel Fosso, 2013

Tout au long de sa carrière Samuel Fosso s’évertue à défendre des causes qui lui semblent justes sans ne jamais oublier de rendre hommage à la culture africaine, à ses ancêtres ou encore aux patriotes engagés dans des combats armés.

Le Rêve de mon grand-père, Samuel Fosso, 2003

Âgé de 59 ans Samuel Fosso, vit aujourd’hui entre Paris et Bengui. La MEP a choisi de présenter une rétrospective de son travail jusqu’au 13 mars 2022.

Infos pratiques :

Samuel Fosso à la Maison Européenne de la photographie du 10 novembre 2021 au 12 mars 2022 à Paris.

Réserver mon billet

T/O/S.